About UAE

A Brief Description

Formerly known as the Trucial States, the United Arab Emirates are a federation of seven individual states, all ruled by emirs.

Founded between the 7th and 8th centuries, the Trucial States granted the United Kingdom control of their defense and foreign affairs in treaties signed in the 19th.

In 1971, six of these states – Abu Zaby, ‘Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Shariqah, Dubayy, and Umm al Qaywayn – merged to form the United Arab Emirates (UAE). They were then joined in 1972 by Ra’s al Khaymah.

With a significant GDP, based primarily on oil, the U.A.E. plays an important role in the affairs of the Middle East.

Abu Dhabi, the country’s capital, as well as Dubai, are modern cities famed for their high-rise buildings and stylish hotels.

 Facts and Figures

  • Official Name United Arab Emirates
  • Population 2,563,200
  • Capital City Abu Dhabi (528,000)
  • Currency Emirati Dirham (AED)
  • Languages Arabic (official), English, others
  • National Day December 2
  • Religions Muslim (96%), others

Geographic Coordinates

Latitude/Longitude (Capital City)
24° 27′ N, 54° 23′ E

Relative Location The United Arab Emirates is in both the northern and eastern hemispheres. It’s positioned in the Middle East, a recognized geographical region of southwestern Asia. It’s bordered by the Persian Gulf, and the countries of Oman and Saudi Arabia.

Land Statistics

  • Coastline 819 miles (1,318 km)

Land Areas

  • (land) 32,000 sq miles (82,880 sq km)
  • (water) 0 sq miles (0 sq km)
  • (TOTAL) 32,000 sq miles (82,880 sq km)

Landforms Most of the United Arab Emirates is a desert wasteland, with large, rolling sand dunes, as the outer reaches of the Rub’ Al Khali Desert stretch into the country.

The coastal areas fronting the Persian Gulf are flat. The Hajar Mountains dominate the landscape in the northeast, and the country’s highest point is located there, and there are no significant rivers or lakes of note.

Numerous small island and inlets are situated offshore in the Persian Gulf.

  • Highest Point Jabal Yibir – 5,666 ft. (1,727 m)
  • Lowest Point Persian Gulf – 0 ft. (0 m)

Land Divisions 7 emirates, including: Abu Zaby (Abu Dhabi), ‘Ajman, Al Fujayrah, Ash Shariqah (Sharjah), Dubayy (Dubai), Ra’s al Khaymah and Umm al Qaywayn.