About Switzerland

Country Details


The beautiful, mountainous country of Switzerland is landlocked in south-central Europe, and remains one of the most popular travel destinations on the planet. It’s famed for banking institutions, watch makers, cheeses and chocolates, mountain glaciers and lakes, and of course, fabulous skiing in the Alps.

Politically, its long-standing neutrality is highly respected by the major nations of the world, and in fact, Switzerland played no part in World War I and II.

The Switzerland maps and information pages are currently being revised, and will be posted soon.

Quick Facts and Figures


Official Name Swiss Confederation

Capital City Bern

Languages German, French, Italian, Romansch

Latitude/Longitude 47� 00’N, 8� 00’E

Official Currency Swiss Franc

Religions Catholic, Protestant, others

Population 7,318,000

Land Area 39,770 sq km (15,355 sq miles)

Land forms Mountains cover 60% of the land area with ranges of the Alps in the south and the Jura Mountains in the north. Between the mountains there’s a hilly, central plateau.

Land Divisions 26 cantons, including: Aargau, Appenzell Ausser-Rhoden, Appenzell Inner-Rhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Fribourg, Geneve, Glarus, Graubunden, Jura, Luzern, Neuchatel, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Sankt Gallen, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug, Zurich