About Philippines




Positioned on the western edge of the Pacific Ocean, along the Ring of Fire, the Philippines is the second-largest archipelago on the planet, with over 7,100 individual islands counted within its borders.

For hundreds of years the Philippines were a Spanish colony, but then were ceded to the U.S. in 1898, following the Spanish-American War.

One of the main focal points of battles between Japan and the U.S. during World War II, at the end of that war (in 1946) with the U.S. victory in the South Pacific, the Philippines attained total independence.

The dictatorial government of Ferdinand Marcos ended in 1986, and since then, a long parade of electoral presidential problems and internal struggles have continued.

In addition, Abu Sayyaf, an armed Muslim insurgency group operating in the south, has collectively plagued the country for many years, and is now causing serious disruptions, especially in western tourism visits.

In 1992, after many years of negotiations, the U.S. finally closed its last military bases on the islands, and (in the view of many), the Philippines lost much needed revenue from that action.

And speaking of problems, the Philippines has one of the highest rates of deforestation in the world. At the current rate of deforestation it’s been estimated that the country�s virgin forests are in danger of disappearing by 2010.

Tourism has never been a major industry in the Philippines, although Manila, beaches and resorts on some of the smaller islands, as well as rain forest tours remain popular.

Facts and Figures


Name Philippines
(long form) Republic of the Philippines

Population 87,857,500

Population & Density (all countries)

Capital City Manila (10.8) metro (14.9 mil)

Currency Philippine Peso (PHP)

Currency Converter

Languages Filipino (official), English (official)

National Day June 12

Religions Catholic (81%), Muslim (5%), Christian (5%), and others

Geographic Coordinates


Latitude/Longitude (Capital City)
14� 37′ N, 120� 58′ E

   Relative Location The Philippines are located in both the northern and                              eastern 
hemispheres.Positioned off the southeastern coast of Asia, directly east of            Vietnam and northeast of Malaysia, this island nation is literally surrounded by the Pacific      Ocean, and many smaller bodies of water including the Philippine Sea, Celebes Sea, Sula      Sea and South China Sea. 


Land Statistics


 Coastline 22,549 miles (36,289 km)

Land Areas

 (land) 115,831 sq miles (300,000 sq km)

 (water) 707 sq miles (1,830 sq km)

 (TOTAL) 115,124 sq miles (298,170 sq km)

 Land Area (all countries)

Landforms The Philippine islands, positioned on the Ring of Fire, are subject to frequent earthquakes and volcanic eruptions.

 The Mayon Volcano is the most active in the Philippines, and considered one of the most dangerous on the planet, however, it does not stand alone; in 1991, Mount Pinatubo erupted, and proved to be one of the most significant volcanic eruptions in recorded history.

 Extending about 1,100 miles (north to south), its many islands (volcanic in origin) are mostly mountainous, with narrow coastal plains; many islands are covered by tropical rain forests. Luzon is the largest island, followed by Mindanao, and both have numerous volcanoes.

 The longest river is the Cagayan (R�o Grande de Cagayan) on Luzon, 217 miles, (350 km) long. Other significant rivers (on Luzon) include the Abra, Bicol, Chico, and Pampanga. On Mindanao, important rivers include the Mindanao River and the Agusan.

 Laguna de Bay, just southeast of Manila, is the largest lake of the Philippines. Lake Taal, also south of Manila, occupies a huge volcanic crater and contains an island that is itself a volcano. Lake Lanao is the largest lake of Mindanao and the source of the Agusan River.

Highest Point Mt. Apo – 9,692 ft. (2,954 m)

Lowest Point Philippine Sea – (0 ft.) (0 m)

Land Divisions 79 provinces and 115 chartered cities. Provinces include: Abra, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Aklan, Albay, Antique, Apayao, Aurora, Basilan, Bataan, Batanes, Batangas, Biliran, Benguet, Bohol, Bukidnon, Bulacan, Cagayan, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Camiguin, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cavite, Cebu, Compostela, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Eastern Samar, Guimaras, Ifugao, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Iloilo, Isabela, Kalinga, Laguna, Lanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, La Union, Leyte, Maguindanao, Marinduque, Masbate, Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Mountain, Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, North Cotabato, Northern Samar, Nueva Ecija, Nueva Vizcaya, Palawan, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Quezon, Quirino, Rizal, Romblon, Samar, Sarangani, Siquijor, Sorsogon, South Cotabato, Southern Leyte, Sultan Kudarat, Sulu, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Tarlac, Tawi-Tawi, Zambales, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay.



  1. Recent Blogroll Additions……

    [...]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[...]……

  2. Gems form the internet…

    [...]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[...]……

  3. nba picks says:

    [...]we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out[...]……

    [...]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[...]……

  4. Wurtzel Law says:

    Cool sites…

    [...]we came across a cool site that you might enjoy. Take a look if you want[...]……

  5. All About Education…

    This is a great website, could you be interested in doing an interview regarding just how you developed it? If so e-mail me!…

  6. Recommended Websites…

    [...]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[...]…

  7. nutricion says:

    All About Education…

    This is a excellent web site, might you be involved in doing an interview regarding just how you created it? If so e-mail me!…

  8. Same stimulating info !Pure merely what I was searching for!

  9. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you’re no longer really a lot more well-appreciated than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You know therefore considerably in the case of this topic, produced me in my opinion consider it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be interested until it’s something to accomplish with Woman gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. At all times deal with it up!

  10. Very interesting topic, thanks for putting up.

  11. We?m unclear exactly why yet this great site is actually packing amazingly slower to me. Is other people having one of these issue or perhaps is it a difficulty on my small conclusion? My partner and i?lmost all visit at a later date and see if the problem nevertheless is out there.

  12. I’ll immediately grab your rss as I can not find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  13. I’ve also been meditating on the very same idea personally lately. Glad to see a person on the same wavelength! Nice article.

  14. I have been reading out many of your stories and i must say nice stuff. I will surely bookmark your site.

  15. Nice article. What do you guys reckon to Benidorm as a holiday location? Have you ever been?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>