About Malaysia

A Brief Description

In the country of Malaysia, archaeological evidence indicates that human beings began inhabiting the general area well over 40,000 years ago.

Portugal was the first European power to gain access to the Southeast Asian trade route when they conquered the Sultanate of Malacca in 1511. The Netherlands and Spain superseded Portugal’s stronghold in the 17th century with the Dutch taking over Malacca.

Facts and Figures

arrow Name Malaysia 

 (long form) none 

arrow Population 23,953,100 

arrow Population & Density (all countries) here 

arrow Capital City Kuala Lumpur (1.5 mil) metro (3.8 mil) 

arrow Currency Ringgit (MYR) 

arrow Currency Converter here 

arrow Languages Bahasa Melayu (official), English, assorted Chinese dialects and other indigenous languages. 

arrow Flag here 

arrow National Day August 31 

arrow Religions Muslim, Buddhist, Daoist, Hindu, Christian, others 

Geographic Coordinates


Latitude/Longitude (Capital City)

03? 10′ N, 101? 42′ E

Relative Location Malaysia is in both the northern and eastern hemispheres. The country is immediately north of the Equator, and positioned on both the Malay Peninsula and on the northern edges of the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia. It’s bordered by the waters of the South China Sea, assorted smaller seas, and the countries of Brunei, Burma (Myanmar) and Thailand.

Land Statistics


Coastline 2,905 miles (4,675 km)

Land Areas

(land) 126,854 sq miles (328,550 sq km)

(water) 463 sq miles (1,200 sq km)

(TOTAL) 127,317 sq miles (329,700 sq km)

 Land Area (all countries) here

 Landforms Malaysia consists of the Peninsular Malaysia, which is part of mainland Southeast Asia, and the states of Sabah and Sarawak on the northern edges of the island of Borneo.

In essence, the coastal plains here (in some areas rather wide) rise gently into hills and mountains, all covered by dense rain forests.

Countrywide, elevations average between 3,500 to 6,000 feet, with the major exception being Mt. Kinabalu (at near 14,000 ft.) in the State of Sabah.

Off its coastlines, Malaysia includes hundreds of very small islands (dots on a sea of blue).

Over two dozen rivers of size flow from the mountains, with the Pahang, Rajang and Sugut the most significant.

Highest Point Gunung Kinabalu -13,451 ft.(4,100 m)

Lowest Point South China Sea – (0 ft.) (0 m)

Land Divisions 13 states, including: Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Pulau Pinang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu; and one federal territory (wilayah persekutuan) with three components, the cities of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya.