About Indonesia




Indonesia, with over 18,000 counted islands, is by far the largest and most varied archipelago on Earth. It spans almost 2 million square kilometres between Asia and Australia.

Positioned on the Equator across a region of immense volcanic activity, Indonesia has some 400 volcanoes within its borders, with at least 90 still active in some way. 

Many of the islands here are still uninhabited, with the larger islands of Java, Kalimantan (Borneo), Irian Jaya (Papua), Sumatra and Sulawesi home to most of the population base.

Once dominated by the military, recent democratic reforms included two highly successful national elections to Parliament, and the direct election of the current President.

Some citizens in the outer-reaches of the country still demand more freedom, and that struggle continues today within the democratic process, and not on the battlefields of the past. Note that the East Timor cry for independence was one of the positive results of reform.

This tropical country and its many islands are one of the most stunning destinations on our planet, but recent (though isolated) terrorism attacks in Bali and other areas of the country have certainly stifled some of the country’s tourism.

In addition, the major Tsunami of December, 2004, severely damaged most of the northern reaches of Sumatra, and there’s still an apprehensive feeling in the air for both residents and visitors alike.

Facts and Figures


Name Indonesia

(long form) Republic of Indonesia

Population 214,973,900

Population & Density (all countries) here

Capital City Jakarta (8.9 mil) metro (18.1 mil)

Currency Indonesian Rupee (IDR)

Currency Converter here

National Day August 17

Religions Muslim (88%), Protestant, others

Geographic Coordinates


Latitude/Longitude (Capital City)
06� 08′ S, 106� 45′ E

Relative Location Indonesia, located on
both sides of the Equator, is therefore in both the northern and southern hemispheres, as well as the eastern hemisphere. It’s positioned just to the north of Australia in far Southeast Asia, and bordered by the Indian Ocean, Pacific Ocean, over a dozen regional seas, and the countries of Malaysia, Papua New Guinea and East Timor.

Land Statistics


Coastline 33,999 miles (54,716 km)

Land Areas

(land) 705,192 sq miles (1,826,440 sq km)

(water) 35,907 sq miles ( 93,000 sq km)

(TOTAL)741,099 sq miles (1,919,440 sq km)

Land Are
a (all countries) here

Landforms This archipelagic nation contains over 18,000 islands. Of those, the larger islands of Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan, Sulawesi, and Irian Jaya are quite mountainous, with some peaks reaching 12,000 ft. The highest elevations (over 16,000 ft) are found on Irian Jaya in the east.

Located along the Ring of Fire, Indonesia has some 400 volcanoes within its borders, with at least 90 still active in some way.

Significant rivers include the Barito, Digul, Hari, Kampar, Kapuas, Kayan and Musi. There are also scattered inland lakes, small in size.

Highest Point Puncak Jaya – 16,502 ft. (5,030 m)

Lowest Point Indian Ocean – 0 ft. (0 m)

Land Divisions 30 provinces, including: Bali, Banten, Bengkulu, Gorontalo, Irian Jaya Barat, Jambi, Jawa Barat, Jawa Tengah, Jawa Timur, Kalimantan Barat, Kalimantan Selatan, Kalimantan Tengah, Kalimantan Timur, Kepulauan Bangka Belitung, Kepulauan Riau, Lampung, Maluku, Maluku Utara, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Papua, Riau, Sulawesi Barat, Sulawesi Selatan, Sulawesi Tengah, Sulawesi Tenggara, Sulawesi Utara, Sumatera Barat, Sumatera Selatan and Sumatera Utara.

In addition, there are two special regions; Aceh and Yogyakarta, and the capital city district of Jakarta Raya.



  1. …For further Information click here…

    [...]The overall look of your website is excellent, let neatly as the content material![...]…

  2. Holzhaus says:


    Thank you for the information!…

  3. click here says:

    [...]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[...]……

    [...]just beneath, are numerous totally not related sites to ours, however, they are surely worth going over[...]……

  4. Beanie Hats says:

    [...]The information mentioned in the article are some of the best available [...]……

    [...]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[...]……

  5. Recent Blogroll Additions……

    [...]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[...]……

  6. Keliones says:

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a weblog website? The account aided me a appropriate deal. I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided vibrant transparent idea

  7. Superb website…

    [...]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[...]……

  8. Great points altogether, you just gained a new reader. What may you recommend about your post that you made some days in the past? Any positive?

  9. Great site!…

    [...]Thanks for every other informative website. Where else could I get that type of information written in such an ideal approach? I have a project that I’m simply now operating on, and I have been on the glance out for such information.[...]…

  10. Filter paper says:

    What is a good free blogging website that I can respond to blogs and others will respond to me?…

    This is a great web page, might you be interested in doing an interview about just how you created it? If so e-mail me!…

  11. Hi-Ya! our family loves your amazing site thank you and pls keep the ball rolling…

    Good luck getting people behind this one. Though you make some VERY fascinating points, youre going to have to do more than bring up a few things that may be different than what weve already heard. What are trying to say here? What do you want us to th…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>